What Is Diwali?

what-is-diwaliThe name “Diwali” translates into “row of lamps,” and is the biggest and brightest Indian festival. Diwali is an official holiday in India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Mauritius, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Malaysia, Singapore, and Fiji. It is known as the Festival of Lights that is marked by four days of celebration. Each day in the festival of Diwali is distinguished by a different tradition, but what remains true and constant is the celebration of life, the victory of good over evil, light over darkness, and knowledge over ignorance.